Dan Yuhas


Dan Yuhas Composer

Dan Yuhas 

Born in 1947. Studied piano and composition at the Rubin Academy in Tel Aviv, with Seter, Partos and Boscovich and further studies in London and Paris. His music was performed by the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, the Israel Chamber Orchestra, the Israel String Quartet, the Arditti Quartet, the Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart and different ensembles and performers in Israel and Europe and Asia. Recently compositions were performed in Moscow, by the Contemporary Music Ensemble, in New Zealand by the National Orchestra in Poland at the Warsaw Autumn Festival, in Montreal, by the Nouvelle Ensemble Modern, at the ACL Festival in Hong Kong, in Paris and Israel.

Founder and director of the Israel Contemporary Players and the Center for Electronic Music.

Chairman of the Israeli Composers' League.

Vice Chairman of the Asian Composers League.

Teacher of composition and counterpoint at the Buchmann-Mehta Music School at the Tel Aviv University.

Prizes and Awards:

  • 1987 received the ACUM Prize
  • 1988 was awarded the Prime Minister's award for composers
  • 1998 was awarded the Lieberson Prize for orchestral composition
  • 2001 received the ACUM Prize for composition
  • 2007 received again the ACUM prize for life achievement
  • 2007 received The Tel Aviv Municipality prize for composition
  • 2008 received the Koussevitzky Award (commission) from the Koussevitzky Foundation and the Library of Congress
  • 2009 received the National Lottery Prize for Composition and again the Prime Minister's award for composers
Copyright © 2010 - Dan Yuhas